A list of new things to do in the new year

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readDec 17, 2022
One day I’ll walk a road like this one and stretch my arms out so that I can touch both sides of the village. Photo by Viktor SOLOMONIK on Unsplash.

There are many things I want to do that I have never done before, and at this time of year, it seems like making lists of things to do is something a lot of people are into doing.

I want to do big, exaggerated things like get on a hot air balloon and fly over a city, seeing people in all directions, tops of houses, and the part of trees only the birds get to see. Being afraid of heights, I’m not sure I’ll ever drum up the nerve to do it, but I want to do it, and wanting to do it might just be enough.

I want to do little, seemingly insignificant things too. Like walking through one of those narrow stone roads in a village somewhere in the southern part of France. The type of places where the streets look like they did when the heroes and heroines you read about in high school lived. I don’t know why I want to do it, but it seems like simply walking through this kind of place will make me realize that I’m smaller than I think I am, and we all need to be reminded about how small we are in this great, big world.

I want to make a croissant from scratch. It seems like the hardest thing in the world to accomplish, and that’s why I want to do it. The kind of croissant that makes a memorable crunching sound at its first bite, and the kind that is meant to be eaten when you are sitting outside in a café looking over the water.

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.