All the things I want to know in 2023

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readDec 12, 2022
New years always feel like new beginnings, and opportunities to learn. Photo by Dapo Oni on Unsplash.

There are many things I want to know in the new year. Things I haven’t learned yet, and a new year is always a good reason to try something new. Or to learn something new.

I want to know why we still work more than we do anything else in life. I get it. Productivity helps us move forward. We are creators, innovators, people of ideas. I’m sure most of the most significant advancements of society were hatched by overworkers, thinking, thinking, and thinking late into the night.

Let those people think, and overwork. We need those people, but it’s not for me. I like to work too, always have. When I was 16 years-old, my parents told me that I was old enough to get a job, so to go get one. A few days later, I was taking orders at Kentucky Fried Chicken. I haven’t stopped working since then. From fast food to housekeeping, auto glass repair, taxi driving, teaching, and writing, every experience has been worthwhile and edifying.

There is something to be said for working hard and going the extra mile, until you taste what life is like outside the office. Walking around the park on an autumn afternoon when you are home early enough to see the sunset. Getting up late, turning on the percolator, and just sitting and listening to the bubbling sound of a new day beginning. I’d like to do more of that.

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.