Familiar things will make you feel good

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readJun 6, 2021

I like picking up things that feel like they’ve always been there. This happened recently when I ran across a new issue of National Geographic. It was the latest issue out on the newsstand. So new, the pages close back up when you try to open it with one hand. Yet, it felt as familiar as those old issues stacked up in dusty bookshelf corners.

Seeing the bright yellow border on the front cover really took me back. The pages inside were filled with amazing photographs of exotic animals you only see in the movies. Sea creatures that look like alien life forms. Scenes from galaxies far away.

It was all there as it has always been, and it made me feel good. Flipping through the pages reminded me of those other familiar things that bring a smile to my face.

Like always finding that extra battery you need when you rummage through the junk drawer in your kitchen. It’s there somewhere hiding between paper clips, scissors, a few nails, and pens that barely write anymore.

Or like that house down the street that each winter puts on the same Christmas light display. Times change, light shapes and sizes become modernized, but that house keeps true to its old self. The old…

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.