Finding wisdom in unlikely places

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readMay 22, 2021
Photo by Dusan Kipic on Unsplash

Every chance I get, I walk over to the city park, right in the middle of town, just to sit. Sometimes I take my shoes off to feel the grass in between my toes. A few minutes turns into an hour, and before I know it, I spent part of an afternoon just sitting, listening, and watching.

What I see and hear are the kinds of things that you read about in books of poems written by great authors. The kinds of things that people used to focus on before social media and the invention of small computers that fit in your pocket.

From time to time, someone comes and sits nearby. It’s usually someone older who looks like he has experienced life for a lot longer than I have. I love it when this happens because these become the times that I learn the most about life.

When I’m at work, I also have to sit, listen, and watch. People tell me what to do and I tell people what to do. Some of us wear ties, others professional-looking blouses and dress shirts. As the days and weeks go by, I am reminded that my generation is different than the people that come and sit by me at the park.

We have busy lives. When we talk, we are usually walking away from each other. Sometimes as we engage in conversation we are at the same time looking down at…

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.