Finding yourself in places you’ve never visited

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readMar 13, 2022
This picturesque place in Austria is a place i’ve never visited. Photo by peter zuijdwegt on Unsplash.

I’ve been thinking about places I want to visit simply because I haven’t been to them. Like Alburg, New York. I don’t know much about it but I have a friend that grew up there, and he always smiles when he’s telling stories of his youth.

He once showed me a picture of the street where he was raised. It seemed like one of those places you see on old TV shows. A place where the streets were perfectly lined up, the corner light was always lit, and the milkman showed up at the same time each day.

Recently, he moved back to that place. He said that he was closer to his “beloved” lake and his Quebec culture. He seems happier than he’s ever been. Makes me want to visit that place.

I also want to visit Cumpas, Mexico. My grandmother was born there and through the years stories were shared about the good times, the ranches, and the food. The lessons learned, the barrios, and the beginnings of many things.

It’s good to go back to beginnings. Where we were born. The origin of our families, our heritage, our names. The places that made us who we are today. We don’t really know all the reasons for our existence. Why we are inclined to like certain…

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.