Friendships are like monsoons, they come and go, and are needed

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readJun 26, 2022
Photo by Raychel Sanner on Unsplash.

Monsoons remind me of many people I have met along the different paths of life. They come for a season. They are memorable and needed. You know they will only be around for a while, and then what seems like forever since you last saw them, they come back and replenish you.

This week, on my way home from a funeral, I drove through a strong and nerve-racking monsoon storm. It was late at night along Highway 80 in no man’s land. There isn’t much for miles except for the occasional fence post and dirt roads that turn off into what used to be homesteads or RV parks.

The road is narrow. The rain was coming down hard. It was one of those sideways rains that changed directions on you. What little could be seen only came through flashes in the sky that lit up the beat-up road and the mountain landscape.

I was nervous, but it didn’t last long. It came and it went. It was heavy, it was loud, and once it was over, I realized how much it was welcome. What it left behind was fresh air, greener grounds, and a feeling of renewal.

I have friends like this week’s summer monsoon. They are something different when you need something different. They come and go, and after you feel like you…

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.