I like the old McDonald’s and other places of the past

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readJan 8, 2024
In a time now long gone, kids used to play inside the Hamburglar jail.

In a coffee shop where I like to do my writing, a small group of people broke into a Spanish worship song. I didn’t expect it but it was nice to hear. The group didn’t look like a religious group. They didn’t have big Bibles with them, and they weren’t wearing crosses. They were just people.

This coffee shop is in Mexico, and as I peeked up from above my laptop screen, I noticed that the folks looked like a mixture of Americans and Mexicans. Maybe there were others too. In between their singing, they shared short messages. I couldn’t hear them too well and I wasn’t sure what they were saying.

They weren’t always singing in tune, and some didn’t know the words to each hymn but they managed and, more importantly, knew that their flaws were what brought them together. These days, we let our flaws keep us apart.

I like coffee shops and places that let you be yourself. Places where you can walk in and say big hellos to the ladies behind the counter. Places where the regulars are happy to see the newcomers. Places where a small table of folks can bring into quiet worship and no one will be bothered.

It seems like these places aren’t too common anymore. People come and go quickly. The doors are revolving now making it easier to get out as fast as you came in. The ladies behind the…

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.