I’m thankful for more than I realize during this season of thanks

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readNov 13, 2022
I’m thankful for the beauty of the Southwest. Photo by Joe Cook on Unsplash.

Making gratitude lists are popular during this time of year. Not just because we have a national holiday with the word thanks in it, but because the days are shorter, the nights colder, and bundling up with a cup of hot chocolate on a comfy couch watching your favorite movie is always a reminder that we have plenty of reasons to give thanks.

I’m thankful that when I get home at the end of each work day that I can say I just got home at the end of a long work day. Not everyone I know can say that.

I’m thankful my coworker knows my favorite brand of coffee, and she buys it to restock the break room whenever she knows the supply is running low. Each morning after the first sip, I feel thankfulness.

I’m thankful for the little square radio that sits at the top of my microwave in one corner of my kitchen. Whenever I want to, I can click a tiny button and listen to the news, country hits of yesteryear, or cumbias on La Tremenda 98.5 FM, a station my grandma used to listen to when she had a little radio in her kitchen. It was always on.

I’m thankful for the church I attend, located across the street from my town’s central park, in a block called Church Square. There’s a church building, each a different denomination, on every corner of the block. The one I go to…

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.