Jewelry in the flour jar and other lost traditions

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readMay 14, 2022
Photo by Arun Kuchibhotla on Unsplash.

I like it when I learn of old tricks-of-the-trade that were once commonly used by people who needed a shortcut or something to hide.

Like a flask of liquor in a Bible. I’ve always wondered when this tradition began and how it might have become one of those open secrets. Maybe it was a fiery fundamentalist preacher with one hand waving in the air and the other hand holding a Bible made up of a front cover, a back cover, and six ounces of gin in between.

I’m sure it takes a lot to condemn your fellow brethren for all the sins of the world while also ignoring your own. A good shot of spirits will make you forget the true evils of the world.

I’m not sure the flask in the Bible tradition is much in favor these days. It may have left with the tradition of hiding jewelry in the flour jar. I watched an episode of The Golden Girls once where Blanche, the southern belle, was covered in flour after searching for her precious lost jewels that had been taken by robbers during a home invasion.

I always wondered why someone would hide jewelry in flour. Maybe it’s too much work for robbers to empty out a flour jar as they hurry through the house and look in other seemingly obvious places like the freezer or the sock drawer. Maybe even thieves are gluten free these days.

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.