Let people know where you come from and what it means to you

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readOct 9, 2022
The lights, the people, the food, the culture make living on the border a magical place of living between two worlds.

Anytime you tell someone where you are from, an immediate impression is formed about you. People always want to know who they are speaking to on a basic level, and part of that discovery is learning where someone comes from. His roots. Her beginnings.

When someone says, “I’m from the South,” I start to think of accents and mannerisms. I can’t help it. The first time I went to New Orleans, I listened and watched, and learned that my ideas of a Southern person was a little on point, and a lot off point.

Other people say they are from the city. They mostly say that when they are in places far away from the city. What do they mean when they say they are from the city? I don’t think it always refers to their physical residence but their way of life.

Sounds of cars honking, steam coming out of manholes, and people walking like they are always late for something. Coffee shops on every corner to help those late people get to where they are going. That’s what I think about people when they say they are from the city.

Other people say that they are from out-of-town. They say that to tell you that they are not from your neck of the woods, that they are there for a short time, just visitors. They give you permission to open up and share about your town with someone new.

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.