Let’s build memorials celebrating reconciliation

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readJan 15, 2023
Not sure what this tiny statue is celebrating. But he makes me happy. Photo by Антон Воробьев on Unsplash.

There are a lot of war memorials in our great country. Statues and plaques with names of soldiers, everyday, ordinary people who picked up arms for a cause and who left everything on battlefields that are now grassy hills just a few blocks from your neighborhood grocery store.

When I visit these places, I read about the courage of the young men who left their homes in the middle of the night, following orders but not knowing exactly where they would end up. Somehow, in every memorial, we, Americans, are the victors. We may have lost a battle or two, but we always ended up winning.

I learn something new each time I’m at a war memorial. Still, I rarely learn something important about people, how we talk to each other, our way of negotiating, problem-solving. I often leave these places scratching my head, wondering where the handshaking memorial could be found.

I think we should erect a statue with two people shaking hands. “Once enemies, at this site, and on this day, Mr. Smith and Mr. Daly came to an agreement before the fighting began.” It doesn’t sound as enticing as bronze and copper soldiers holding large guns and charging forward.

We can’t celebrate what we don’t see. Our children don’t know what we don’t tell them. How we avoided conflict, large and small. How on almost regular…

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.