Remembering Nana and the little things in life

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readMay 31, 2020

When I was a kid, Nana would ask if she had too much makeup on. I can see her so clearly in my mind. She sat at the kitchen table, getting ready for the day. The Norteñas playing in the background. She held a small mirror up to her face and shared the latest gossip.

She couldn’t see too well out of one eye, and sometimes, she put on too much makeup. I was always too embarrassed to say yes when she asked. Nana would never leave the house without looking her best.

I miss her every day, and if she asked me today to let her know if she had too much makeup on, I would say no because I can’t imagine her any other way.

Nana cared about looking presentable when she was out in public. She didn’t do it to show off or to get noticed. She did it because it was the respectful thing to do. I wish more of us were more like her.

As I think of her makeup ritual, I always chuckle. A lot of the time she was getting ready just for a trip to Wal-Mart. With rollers on her hair and a cup of coffee getting cold on the table, the aroma of grandma is fresh in my mind. I can see the cookie jars in the corner and hard candy in small tray waiting to greet visitors.

It sounds cliché but she was all those things. When you are poor and humble…

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.