Special moments with old-fashioned oatmeal cookies

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readAug 14, 2020

I had one of those late-night urges for something sweet the other day, so I slipped into my shoes and made my way to the grocery store. As I walked through the cookie aisle, I couldn’t help but to reminisce of childhood memories, grandparents, and holidays.

The old-fashioned oatmeal cookies caught my eye. The kind with the rugged tops and thin layer of icing. Just seeing them took me back to my youth. Stale or fresh out of the pack, there was no wrong way to eat them. They were always in a jar somewhere or in a cabinet with all sorts of other goodies.

That’s what grandparents do. They have cabinets, cupboards, and drawers full of goodies. Maybe when you’re a kid everything seems like a goody. Not just cookies and candies, but also strange things like thimbles, and those soft balls with colorful pins coming out of them. There was always something interesting to find, because to grandparents, all things, small and big, old and new, had value.

Walking down the cookie aisle, I also saw the animal crackers. They sell them in bags now, but they used to…

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.