The magic of A Visit from St. Nicholas

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readDec 5, 2021

I like to recite the poem ’Twas the Night Before Christmas even though I don’t know all the words. The poem’s real title is A Visit from St. Nicholas. Sometimes I just hum it in my head. Other times, I fill in the lines with other words that feel merry enough to make it work.

I like this 19th century poem because it still feels relevant. It’s almost 200 years old and when I hear it in commercials or in children’s school plays, I see how it makes people feel happy. With all the change that is pushing us forward, sometimes into a world unknown to us, it’s nice to connect with something as old as a pre-civil war era poem.

We still do many of the things said in the poem. Kids go to bed on Christmas Eve, hoping to be awakened by old St. Nick during a quiet night when not even a mouse could be heard stirring. We still hang stockings over the chimney with care.

I’m not sure if kids go to bed with visions of sugar-plums dancing in their heads, but they certainly have other hard candy in mind. When Santa arrives he still does so by landing his sleigh on a snowy, moonlight night.

He still calls his trusty reindeer by name, Dasher and Dancer, Prancer, and Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner and Blitzen. And he always does it in that order. Santa comes and goes quickly, everything seems all a flurry, so it’s hard to see…

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.