What I learned from my first job at Kentucky Fried Chicken

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readMar 13, 2021
What was the secret recipe the colonel was hiding from all of us?

Everyone remembers their first job. On the day I turned 16 years old, my mom told me to go out there and get a job. She said I was old enough to earn my own living. I should be making my own money, washing my own dishes, doing my own laundry — and that I should be doing everything on my own except living out on my own.

Like most teenagers, I didn’t get it. It wasn’t until many years later that I realized the logic behind most of what my parents told me all my growing up years. So in May of 1998, I went out to look for that first job, and almost on the spot, I was hired at the local Kentucky Fried Chicken.

I enjoyed working in the fast-food industry. It was fast-paced and I was always on my feet. Just when you thought you could take a break from the long lines, the shift manager would ask why I was standing around. There was always something to do. If there were no customers, there was stocking of supplies. If the supplies were stocked, there was wiping down of tables. If the tables were wiped, there was cleaning of the bathrooms.

When you’re 16 years old and working at your first job, you do what you’re told, get paid what you get paid, and you keep going shift after shift. I was a vegetarian…

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.