What we wear is what we share with others

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readAug 8, 2021

I like meeting people that tell me who they are by what they choose to wear. Not just the style of shirt or jeans they put on each day, but also the extra things they carry because they mean something to them.

Flannel shirts and cargo pants were a daily choice for a former co-worker of mine. Each time I saw him, he seemed to have the same outfit on. As time passed, I appreciated the simplicity of his everyday decision-making. He knew what he was all about and he wasn’t afraid to show it — an outdoor kind of guy who liked extra pockets and sleeves he could roll up to be ready for wild and unknown adventures.

Another man I used to go to church with was a Mr. Fix It kind of guy. Whenever someone was in a jam, they knew he would be the person to turn to for a pocketknife or other small tool that could be used to save the day. He always wore those old blue jeans that you knew were probably his favorite because of the familiar faded imprint of a wallet on the back pocket.

I think guys that wear blue jeans with faded wallet imprints are always heroes.

Then there’s my old friend Kurt who was more of a hippy, rock n’ roll type. He was from New York and his big city background was something you could guess just by looking at him.

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.