Why I like my hometown more than any other place

Abraham Villarreal
4 min readJun 5, 2023
Where you grow up changes in many ways over time, but in some ways it’s always the same.

People like to ask me why I moved back to my hometown. Sometimes I feel bothered when this happens because it’s one of those questions that comes with a suggestion. Sometimes it comes with an answer in a tone of voice or an extra emphasis on the words “why” and “back.”

Most other places have other things that my hometown doesn’t. Bigger stores. Restaurants that dish out more than Mexican food. Choices of where to shop. People that look different than each other. They speak differently from each other.

I like all those things, but I like my hometown better. I was in Austin this week scooting around the city. There’s a lot of walking to do, but getting on those scooters is a bit more thrilling, and you can see more in a place where there is a lot to see.

Buildings that touch the sky. Eateries of all kinds with food that you can’t pronounce. Music coming from every corner. People in suits and people in sandals. There is some of everything in Austin.

I like all of it, but I like my hometown more. When I was growing up in the small town of Douglas, Arizona, the town seemed bigger. The streets longer. It took a while to get to downtown if you were walking, and along the way were familiar faces. You could stop by the arcade store and the card shop. There weren’t too many surprises.

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.