Why I like visiting places I’ve been to before

Abraham Villarreal
3 min readJan 16, 2022
A pier scene in the 292-year-old city of Baltimore. Photo by Irina Sitnikova on Unsplash.

I’m going to Baltimore for the first time this coming March. I’m looking forward to it because it’s a place filled with history and delicious food. It touches the water, and I read that it is the birthplace of our national anthem.

I like going to places I’ve never been before, but not as much as going to places where I have been a time or two. They seem to be more special to me, but you had to have been there at least once for that to happen, so going to new places is part of the process.

Visiting familiar places is like seeing people you met once or a few times before. You remember their first names or at least the name they are known by. You think of those characteristics that make them stand out in your mind. Like the guy who tells stories that seem too hard to believe or the lady that you know is always going to be behind the old diner coffee counter because that’s where she’s been since anyone can remember.

Returning to a place you have been before is a statement of how you feel about what is important to you. Give me a choice on what to do for the weekend and I always say that I want to go back to that restaurant, in that small town where the food isn’t…

--

--

Abraham Villarreal

People are interesting. I write about them and what makes them interesting.